A Six-Word Memoir® is the story of your life—some part of it or all of it—told in exactly six words.

In classrooms and boardrooms, churches and synagogues, veteran's groups and across the dinner table, Six-Word Memoirs have become a powerful tool to catalyze conversation, spark imagination or simply break the ice.

Here on Six Words, we offer a simple platform to share the short, sharp story of your life, as well as provide daily prompts to share your six-word takes on the topics of our times.

More than half a million short stories have been shared here. Read more about six.

So give six a try—and make your words count.


Six Word Memoirs
Social Buttons Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest YouTube


Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, there are six.

by DynamicDbytheC on February 5, 2013   |  FacebooktwitterTumblr

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross wrote that there are five stages of grieving: anger, denial, bargaining, depression and acceptance. Not necessarily in any order and one can go in and out of the various stages while grieving. I have been grieving since October 2010, since we discovered that James had incurable bone cancer at the age of 48. I have discovered a sixth stage. Most days I am shell shocked.


Six Word Memoirs Logo
Powered by Smith Magazine